The Australian Open

The first Australian Open to be held in Western Australia was held at Lake Karrinyup in 1952 and Norman Von Nida had to overcome a strong field that included old rivals such as Peter Thomson and Kel Nagle to become national champion. Over the ensuing years in which Lake Karrinyup hosted the Australian Open it has seen some of the world’s best golfers attempt to tame the tough course. Some who did so and became Australian Open Champions included Bruce Devlin (1960), Jack Nicklaus (1968), and Gary Player (1974) who made Lake Karrinyup the home of his seventh Australian Open Championship.

1952 Australian Open – photos courtesy of the State Library of Western Australia